Saturday, March, 17, 2018


                                                   COUNTY ASSEMBLY OF NYAMIRA

Nyamira County Assembly is the forum through which the people, who own the sovereign power to govern, can participate in the making of laws, formulation of policies for taxation, budgeting, and the establishment of the County Public Service.
Through the same forum, the people maintain surveillance and oversight on how they are governed; while the County Executive gives an account of its operations in governing the County.
Composition of a County Assembly
Membership of a County Assembly is constituted according to provisions in Section 177 (a), (b), (c) and (d) of the Constitution of Kenya  2010; and Section 7 (1) and (2) of the County Governments Act, 2012.
Nyamira County Assembly has 20 elected members, thirteen nominated members, the Speaker and Deputy Speaker. The Clerk of the Assembly is an authorized officer in Assembly. The County has a senator, a female representative and four members of parliament.
The County Assembly exercises power to enact laws at the county level. The County Assembly of Nyamira discharges its mandate of legislation, representation and oversight in a serene environment with the unrelenting support of the, multi-talented, effective and efficient Honorable Members and staff of the Assembly.  It receives and approves plans and policies for the management of the County’s resources, infrastructure and institutions